Topeka, KS — Today, the two leaders of the Kansas State House, President of the Kansas Senate Susan Wagle and Speaker of the Kansas House Ray Merrick, endorsed Pat Roberts for U.S. Senate in 2014.

Endorsing U.S. Senator Pat Roberts, Sen. Susan Wagle, the first Wichitan and first woman elected president of the Kansas State Senate said, “Pat Roberts’ conservative leadership in the United States Senate and unwavering dedication to Kansas have proven invaluable to our nation and our state. He fights for us. He works with us. He has the respect of his colleagues in the Senate, in the state legislature and among conservatives in Kansas and across the country. I look forward to working with him over the next six years on behalf of the people of Kansas.”

Kansas House Speaker Ray Merrick expressed his support for Roberts’ candidacy stating, “Pat Roberts is Kansas. His values are our values. His priorities are our priorities, and his leadership in the United States Senate is exactly what we need to ensure our country remains true to the Constitution. I am proud to endorse my fellow Marine’s campaign for Senate and will work alongside him to ensure another Republican clean sweep in 2014.” 

Roberts thanked Senate President Wagle and Speaker Merrick for their support of Team Roberts in 2014.

“I am honored to have the support of these two strong conservative leaders who are making such a difference in Topeka,” said Roberts. “Senate President Wagle and Speaker Merrick are leading the charge in the battle to ensure Kansas is the greatest state in the union for job creation and economic success through lower regulation, lower taxes, and a renewed dedication to our shared Kansas values. Their hard work opposing the President’s health care takeover and promoting conservative principles in Topeka has made Kansas a model for the nation. I want to continue the partnership and appreciate their support.”

Earlier today, the Kansas State Rifle Association, representing thousands of Kansans, endorsed Pat Roberts.

Likewise, Republicans from across the state have joined the team, including Senator Bob Dole, Governor Sam Brownback, Senator Jerry Moran, First District Congressman Tim Huelskamp, Second District Congresswoman Lynn Jenkins, Third District Congressman Kevin Yoder, Fourth District Congressman Mike Pompeo, Lieutenant Governor Jeff Colyer, Secretary of State Kris Kobach, Attorney General Derek Schmidt and State Treasurer Ron Estes.